8:21 a.m. - 2004-03-30
03-30-04

School began yesterday. I'm looking forward to my coursework; this despite the fact that I haven't caught up on sleep missed during the Winter 2004 term.

The Spring 2004 term finds me enrolled in SOC 300 (Sociology for Developing Nations) and ECO 100 (Econcomics 100) - sound familiar? If it does, it's the same course I withdrew from last term due to the fact that I, in my na�vet� registered for more courses than I could successfully complete while working full time.

* * *

I am still looking and interviewing for a Bartending gig. Encouragingly enough, I've got a few leads.

* * *

Tonight I will be able to pick up my car. *yay!* C0lin-the-mechanic called last night asking if I wanted to purchase a Honda, a 97' coupe. I admit he had me going; so much so, that I had to ask him what he meant exactly - see, this is what happens when I am washing laundry and trying to hold a conversation simultaneously. My mind simply couldn't get to where he was, fast enough to catch on to the fact that he was pulling my leg.

He informed me that The Green Machine is running like a "dream". I said okay thanks. After I'd hung up the phone I muttered "I'll be the judge of that." Now that I think of it, does he mean a "dream dream" or a "nightmare"? I'll find out soon enough�

Meanwhile, I have been thoroughly enjoying driving Mw's car; especially the c.d. player - take note, it doesn't take much to make me happy.

* * *

Last night "we" began reading a book. It's supposed to guide us through our relationship, by asking pointed relationship questions; which we are to explore and discuss in depth. We began with the first question, a conversation ensued which lasted a bit over an hour, and in all honesty could've easily gone on far longer. We'll see where this goes�

I just realized it would be helpful if I (1) posted the book title, and (2) maybe perhaps posted the questions?!�I can be so *duh "Becka"* sometimes. Pardon my *duh "Becka"* moment please; I'll post the associated details this evening, from home.

After reading the first chapter, I admitted to him, that I was in denial about even being in a relationship - big first step for me. The truth of the matter is that the long distance issue is tough for me. Perhaps this is the phase of my "soul's journ" where I learn and come to terms with that? I dare not say "never", as anything is possible.

My favorite phrase "we shall see�"

* * *

'his' birthday passed - the 24th of March. I didn't realize, until the radio announcer on talk radio stated today's date. Humph!� imagine that, I didn't remember the date, I didn't have any particular thoughts or feelings about him, and I didn't cry.

Does this perhaps mean I'm on the pathway to healing? I'd certainly like to believe so.

And if it is, I've been wanting and *waiting to exhale *.

What a relief!

* * *

I received a call from my former Business professor, who is now the Dean of our Philly campus. He asked if I'd permit him to publish my final project. I was stunned at his offer. Me?!�Gathering myself after a pregnant pause, I informed him that I'd be happy to assist him with his publication requirements.

Fancy that?�Lil Miss Souljourn is gonna be published. Visions of sugarplums dancing in my head, aside - I've got to reformat my project to make it "publication ready".

Never in my wildest dreams did I think I'd have this opportunity� This is so unexpected, yet serendipitous.

In my eyes, he's a terrific instructor and wonderful human being. He even took the time to write a recommendation for me, which resulted in my being awarded a scholarship. YOU know there was simply no way in which, I could refuse his publication request - right?

* * *

My play older brother is going to be graduating in May. It has taken him 10 yrs. to complete his academic journey. I am proud beyond words of his determination and personal commitment. First serving his country in the US Army, now he serves the fair city of Annap0lis, as a police officer. He is a devoted husband, father of 4, and my big brother.

Last night Mw, his wife and I spoke of tentative plans to celebrate his birthday, his commencement and Father's day in one big shebang. It's gonna be fun! I'm so looking forward to a day of leisure.

* * *


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -