7:50 p.m. - 2003-01-28
State of the Union

-State of the Union-

I stayed up to watch the President give the State of the Union address.

I observed that President �Select�s� speech making skills were much improved.

I also noticed that there were dollar amount commitments given to age old issues in dire need of attention.

The speech writers did a hellafied job of writing and organizing a host of ideas. The speech not only got my attention, it held my attention.

I am not one for premature pronouncements.

I have disagreed with nearly everything YOUR President has said and done thus far.

I�m not going to suggest we give accolades for good speech making, and oratorical genuflecting, no matter how audibly enticing. Good speeches and competent/effective oratory skills are part and parcel of The Presidency; as I see it.

Whether or not YOUR President makes good on HIS promises, or if this is just another example, among a host of gross political rhetoric remains to be seen.

The only things I will agree to are:

1. sit

and,

2. wait to see

which, if any, initiative(s) and to what extent(s) they transcend from rhetoric/proposals into law.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -