07:30 a.m. - 2003-03-04
Signs

Signs

Yesterday morning while driving to my office, I saw 2 signs hanging on overpasses, on I-95 North.

The first sign�s message: �No War With Iraq�

The second sign�s message: �What about Iraqi Kids?�

Since Sept. 11th a myriad of flags, banners and patriotic-themes have be displayed on the various interstate overpasses, until yesterday, none of these patriotic symbols stained my brain cells, as effectively as the message from sign #2.

All day I could not help but feel mentally haunted.

Last night, while driving home on I-95 South, I saw the signs in my rear view mirror. Without hesitation, I said a quick prayer, and began thinking about Iraqi children, their present, their past and what was to be their future.

It sounds trite, but I am trying to be honest. Its hard to think about this. Its massive, complex, multi-dimensional. I don�t know, if any one human being can fully understand and appreciate the scope, depth and breath of the ramifications involved.

My mind was spinning.

First and foremost, I began thinking about how grateful I am, for having been born in America. Next I began thinking about how my life differs so starkly from other females in other nations, some of whom are my own relatives. My mind hopped wildly, and I began thinking about the plight that has been the lives of women and children in Iraq.

I felt a sadness and heavy sensation blanket me.

I couldn�t help but feel that they (Iraq�s women and children) deserved the rights to enjoy and exercise freedoms, quality of life, fairness, stability, peace and happiness.

To say the very least they have been dealt a hard and unjust life.

Because of my background, another part of my mind began considering the costs, which would have to be exacted, BEFORE life for Iraq�s citizens would/could change. In my minds eye, the cost would be equated, in terms of human life. As much as I didn�t want to think about it, much less admit it; the loss of precious human life is what war, military campaigns and conflicts are about.

I, like many people wish I had a viable solution. The truth is, I feel more helpless now than ever.

I overhear people openly muttering that war is inevitable, and aside from protesting we as a free people, can do nothing.

America the Land of the Free, the Home of the Brave, and our citizens are admitting aloud �we are powerless�.

In an effort to come to terms with what is transpiring, and to invoke our belief in a higher power, a dear friend and I began a prayer circle last night. No matter where we are, no matter what we are doing, we have agreed to pray at 8 p.m. every day. We are praying for peace, for unity, for strength, for clarity and for hope. Many of us are not of the same religions extractions. That is of no matter. We are uniting, of one accord, in the belief that our prayers will be heard and answered.

We invite you all, if you are so inclined, to join our prayer circle, feel free to share this with your friends and loved ones.

I have seen, heard and believe that Prayer has the Power to change things.

Peace be with you all.

Namaste�

As Salaam Alaikum

Under the colors we are Brothers.

*EDIT*

Click here to check out what Michael Moore is doing.

Happy Shrove Tuesday! What is Shrove Tuesday you ask? It is the beginning of fasting, in observance of Lent. Click here for more info.
Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -