8:40 p.m. - 2004-06-06
Let Me Eat Cake

Well this week I worked out. Boy did Blanche work out.

Between running my route each morning like the dedicated and talented Newsie that I am, I made myself ride the stationary bicycle for an hour several times this week. For my efforts, I shed 2.5 lbs. and 1% body fat.

Yeah right about now, Blanche is *STOKED*.

Today my [play] sister-in-law (we call her "Country") and her 4 children (we call them the "Tator Tots"), are hosting a BBQ celebration for my [play] older brother who recently graduated from BSU .

Last week, Mw asked me to order a Devil's food sheet cake from Giant's . The baker thought it would be best to use Fudge icing.

Today's my treat day. I indulged in an 'adult'-sized portion of the heavenly cake. My hat is definitely off to the baker. Old Blanche was on Cloud 9. The cake was off the hook. I kid you not.

Country's uncle catered the event. He did an okay job.

Once we arrived home I told Mw that uncle did a'ight but he can't hold a candle to her "Grillin skillz". That made her smile.

To give the adults a break, I played with the kids at the play ground. I think at one point, Aunt Renay and I had 12 little chickadees under our watch. They all behaved and we had a terrific time.

While the chicadees played, Aunt Renay and I talked about her career abroad. She's recently returned to Maryland, after a 15 year stint in Brussels . We talked about my education, my background and career experience, I came away from our conversation encouraged and optimistic. Before she left the BBQ, I made sure I slipped her my business card. She says she'll be in touch, as she wants and needs a trainer. She talked with Mw who gave me a flawless endorsement. I can't say that I feel I deserve it. What do I do as far as Mw is concerned? I tell her what she's allowed to eat, I show her the portion sizes she's allowed, I weigh and measure her every week, and I check on her daily. In between we talk, I try to keep her motivated, focused and enthused about her goals, by asking questions to see where she is mentally. To me, it doesn't seem as if I'm doing much at all. Mw does all of the REAL work. I coach, motivate, observe, and advise. None of that is hard, none of that is real work (at least not to me).

* * *

I'd like to know why parents act so surprised that their children will behave with a "stranger"? No kid in his/her right mind is going to cut the nut with a stranger.

I was falling out, each parent came to the play ground to claim his child. They asked their child (right in front of me), "did you behave?". Each child said the same thing "yes I did". Each parent reacted the same way, by looking at me, as if to confirm if their child was telling the truth. I tell you one thing, I love children, I especially love obedient children who love to have fun. These children were well behaved, they played well with other children and they made sure they let me know if they were going to move to another part of the playground. Watching them all was a snap.

I know this isn't the case with all children, but like I said these kids were really great kids.

I wonder to myself, if having 2 involved parents in the household made all the difference with these children?... They all attend private parochial schools, and their family attends church together. Their parents believe in discipline and talking to their children.

No matter what accounts for the behavior of the children, I had a ball in their company.

* * *

Before any of the children arrived, Tracee asked me if I planned on ever having children, I told her maybe, perhaps 1 child, but that I want to wait to be married. I quickly added that I also hope I still have viable eggs and that I can safely carry a child at that time.

Ironic how Tracee and I never had time to really talk to oneanother before now. The last family gathering we chatted briefly, was *Tre's* birthday. I mentioned that I was interested in pledging since then it seems as though she's making an true effort to get to know me and connect.

Even if my interest in her organization isn't her motivation, I feel that I always have room to add 1 more good person into my "inner circle".

Today was a near perfect day!

Night all, I must rise at 0200 hrs. as a Newsie's job is never done.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -