10:20 a.m. - 2003-04-17
I think I�m in LOVE�

I have gone from one extreme to the next.

In undergrad school, I slept 3 hours a day. My secret?: I drank 3 pots of regular coffee a day, and snacked on several small meals throughout the day. At the time, I saw no connection between my inability to sleep, and my daily coffee consumption. Back then, I worked 3 jobs and carried a 24 credit Engineering schedule. I had a lot to try to keep pace with.

Step into my time machine and zoom forward a bit, I�m in the work force, I cut my daily intake to 1 pot of regular coffee a day, and still only slept 3 hrs. a day. �maybe there was no correlation between my coffee intake and my friend sleep apnea?!

Step into my time machine once more, and zoom forward to 2002, I drank then, and still do today, � of 1 cup (that�s right only 4 oz.) of DECAF coffee per day. For the greater part of 2002, I slept between 3 � 6 hours per day.

I sincerely wanted to learn to sleep longer, so last year, I asked my �sister� T, for help. She has no trouble sleeping, and I soon learned that she has a pre-bedtime routine. In an email, she lovingly detailed all of the things she�s done both in the past, and presently, to aid her, in pursuit of a great night�s sleep.

It�s been 4 months, since I began following her pre-bedtime ritual advice. And I have to confess that I think I�m in love�with my pillows and blankets.

I am a morning person, usually energetic and chipper, when I rise.

Monday through Friday, I find that I don�t want to get out of bed. I�ve learned some things: the temperature under the blankey is perfect. The moment my alarm clock sounds, is the exact moment I realize how comfy and wonderful my pillows feel.

Each morning I rise to work out, and as I get myself dressed for that activity, I look back at my bed thinking what I would do, if given the chance, to get back under my blankey and snuggle with my pillows.

T has helped create a monster. Is there a 12 step program for what ails me?!

Signed,

Hopelessly in love - with my pillows and blankey


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -