10:41 a.m. - 2003-05-19
Inspiration2

While an AFJROTC Cadet, attending Leadership Camp I�d learned that Inspiration was 99% perspiration; 1% determination. At the time, I gave no thought to the Jodys we were forced to learn. I memorized them, chanted when ordered and that was that.

Years later I find myself silently repeating those Jodys, nodding my head, and admitting that there is so much truth in each of those catchy motivational phrases.

Its been 12 years. I�ve been promising, praying, planning, thinking and re-thinking. Today I met with a counselor - AngelaR.

Inside I was jittery. Eddys of emotions swirled within.

Silently I kept repeating positive phrases, all in an effort to steady myself. I didn�t want to look like a wreck in front of AngelaR. I wanted her to see me as a picture of confidence and purpose.

Fortunately for me, and for the university, she (AngelaR) was everything in person, she conveyed both on the telephone and in our numerous emails. AngelaR is intelligent, organized, bright, bubbly, warm, easy to speak with, disarming, comforting, matter of fact, and personable. (In other words the perfect person to be a counselor).

She and the staff, removed what I�d assumed would be painful / tedious / and complicated, from the admissions, registration and financial aid processes.

Seamless, effortless, are the adjectives that danced in my mind. I exited the campus far more self assured, confident and on top of the world, than I�d entered. In the parking lot I breathed deeply. It mattered not that the sky was grey, rain drops pittered and pattered on my umbrella. Sitting inside my car, without warning tears trickled onto my cheeks. Welcomed with open arms, and embraced like an old friend, in town for a short visit. I sat silently and cried.

12 Years. 12 Years is a long time to make a promise. 12 Years is a long time to work towards a goal; sometimes knowing you are going to make it; other times doubting that you will ever keep your own promise. 12 Years. I didn�t know if I�d live to see this day, but I did.

I am so emotionally filled.

The greater of which is that internal sighing once heaves, only when you keep a promise you make to yourself.

Am I making any sense?

I have been awed, graced, inspired, educated and encouraged by many. It is the highest, most complete blessing, to have had, such company, while making my journey.

I allowed myself the luxury, whilst sitting in my car, tears flowing, rain pittering and pattering, my mind revisited important moments. The lovely, beautiful, giving people, my family, made today possible. God first and foremost - to whom, I can�t give thanks and praise enough. He saw fit to continually bless me with real life Angels � I make mention, for brevity sake, of a few of them, the remaining Angels - you know who you are, and you know full well, to what depths I feel for you. E, Evil Edna , Gingerbug, Leah, MizElay , Soren, and Trin63, and Vivi.

I come away today, filled with hope, and a single thought:

In all things, give thanks.

Amen,


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -