12:01 p.m. - 2003-03-24
I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends

I received a final call from L. He and his unit had been training and isolated and he wanted me to know he�d be boarding a plan, destined for Kuwait at 0600hrs. I was able to maintain a calm front, and ask him to be careful, reminding him to trust his instincts.

L is a non-praying man, but before we ended our call, he mentioned that he�d prayed and that he was afraid.

The personal revelation, of his act of prayer, shot emotions through me. I don�t know how to describe what I felt. I told him it was important for him to take care of his salvation and that I was concerned for his safety as well as the other soldiers. He tried to reassure me by saying that he�d try to talk with the chaplain.

After our brief exchange, I found myself in need of comfort. I found it in 2 special people�my Dazzling Twin, and Ant. I appreciate from the bottom of my heart, the both of you, taking time to talk with me, and help me through this. Your actions and time spent, meant so much.

I began thinking of a song that Ms. Jordan and Ms. Proctor taught us, for a special recital, while I was a student at Langley Park McCormick Elementary School, �I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends�. Although the words escaped me, I hummed the melody, smiling to myself. I am richly blessed; I�ve got people in my inner circle who genuinely care, and make themselves available when I need them.

I hope they realize, I�m here for them, when and if they should need me too.
Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -