4:48 p.m. - 2003-11-18
He Mis-took Me for a Chicken Head

What in the universe was going on last night?

I for one would really like to know.

It must've been �Ex Boyfriend Check-in Night�, and none of my 'friends' bothered to warn me.

Nice very freaking nice.

It was my decision to entertain these calls so I can't riff about that.

What I can share with you all, is that coming off my final call, an offer made, to which I replied in a tone which could only be described as calm, steady, and mature "No Thank You".

Later this morning, I thought about what I'd said, why I said it, and the response I received.

I am admittedly proud of myself.

I could've fallen straight into a trap, but didn't.

I'm too grown up, far wiser, and even more capable than he�d given credit for.

It also occurred to me, that he mistook me, for one of those 34-year old chicken heads, who needs nay, depends on a man to pay her bills, give her pocket money, and buy her pocket books, matching shoes and outfits.

I could roll my eyes, suck my teeth and mutter. Instead,

I cleared my throat, tilted my head, at �that� angle. Yeah, you know the angle, I�m talking about � �the angle� that only the Independent, strong, confident, moral and value driven, young, urban, professional woman, on the go, and in the know can muster.

I pause a moment for effect, then ponder this maxim

�God Bless the Child, that�s got his own.�


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -