9:52 a.m. - 2003-04-02
HBD EC*

Today is my niece EC�s* 6th birthday. Happy Birthday E!

She has chosen to have her special dinner at Sakura�s Japanese restaurant. She takes particular delight, in the way the chef puts on a show, demonstrating his entertaining culinary and showman-like skills, all the while cooking the meal, in front of you.

Last night I went to Target and purchased a gift certificate for her. She and her mom, will be school clothes shopping shortly, and E is at that age, where she wants to pick out her OWN outfits.

I don�t recall being so sophisticated and refined at the tender age of 6, thinking of how children today are so very different, from when I grew up makes me feel so ancient on the one hand, but then on the other hand E and her brothers think I�m their �cool� Auntie. I wonder how many more years they will regard me as �cool, fun and hip�.

I also picked out a book, whose title caught my eye. I read it, to ensure the content was �suitable� for my little girl. The title is �girls rule�a very special book created especially for girls�, written by Ashley Rice. I won�t give away the plot of this 64 page gem, but it is a must read for women and little girls alike.

I can only imagine how much further ahead I�d be, had I had a book like this in my collection.

The themes are positive and affirming, I think the book�s purpose is to encourage and motivate.

While the target audience, is most likely a decade or two younger than I am, I thoroughly enjoyed reading �girls rule�, and will pick up another copy for my own collection.

I encourage you to pick up a copy for that special little girl or woman in your life, let her know she RULES.
Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -