13:00 p.m. - 2002-11-18
Dermatofibroma

Dermatofibroma

The �mole� I had, or more accurately, the mass I had on my sternum, which caused me pain and greater concern when it began changing hues and growing in size, is not a �mole� afterall. The technical term for this �thing� which I have grown to resent, and at times has made me feel �ugly� is a dermatofibroma - a common benign fibrous skin lesion. Fibromas are caused by a trauma such as an insect bite or sting. They can grow, and change color. There are a variety of photographs and detailed medical journal entries on this subject matter. I am grateful for the information out there. Equally, if not more so grateful to E, for her journal detailed the removal of a mole, and the process she went through, as well as the intelligently phrased questions she asked. I used her diary and those entries to guide myself to this day.

This is a 2 year mini saga, the tale of a 5 mm lesion, located on my sternum. I was initially dismissed by my dermatologist and told to �live with it.� I was passively defiant, so much so that he, had to return to the examination room to speak with me a 2nd time. I rebuffed his nonchalant demeanor and repeated my questions. It didn�t work. He waved me off and left the examination room. Sighing as if that day were my last on Earth, I reluctantly dressed and left his office. In the parking lot, I cried. I had done my research, I had my questions. I was so ready for him to do something, anything, just remove it. What did he do?...he waved his hand at me, in a mocking gesture and sucked his teeth and mumbled �you can learn to live with that.� He exited directly and abruptly.

I am no quitter, and I don�t give up. That is simply not an option. I prayed about this, God answered. While reading E�s diary, she detailed, painstakingly the process she underwent to have a mole removed. I took notes. Then I got to work. I changed my primary physician, when I found I was being disregarded and ignored. I am not your average patient � I am anything but [average]. My parents are U.S. Army retired, I have been afforded the best medical & dental care the U.S. Army could provide, both in the United States and in Europe. As such, I�ve been conditioned to be able to discuss my medical status, and ask all sorts of questions of my physicians. Military hospitals are reputed to be training/teaching facilities. And I have grown accustomed to having eye contact, and the undivided attention and interests of my physicians. I soon learned, in the civilian sector, Medicine and the day to day Practice of this fine art and skill is a completely different bailiwick.

After a lengthy visit and discussion with Dr. Weinstein, I was given a consult to see her favorite Dermatologist, Dr. Mofid. Dr. M. came highly recommended. The nursing staff said she was the best, and they enjoyed working with her. I made a mental note and booked my appointment.

0830hrs, I met with Dr. Mofid. For the record, she is one stellar human being and an awesome Dermatologist to boot. She took a look at my �lesion�, within 1 second, she blurted out a term. I asked her to spell it and began taking notes, she chuckled. I suspect she�s not used to patients who take notes. I am a note taker. There isn�t anything more important than my health. But I digress, my apologies. We discussed my options. The least invasive, of which, 3 injections of a steroid called �Kenalog�, which she could administer in her office. She gave me a moment to think it over � then out she went and in she returned with a sterile syringe. Dr. Mofid shared with me, the fact, that she has experienced great success with Kenalog. I asked about the side effects, and drug interactions. She detailed them all, and after discussing each one, point by point, I decided to take the very first injection.

My appointment with Dr. Mofid was a 2nd opinion. This isn�t the first time I�ve had to get a 2nd opinion � given my history � Cancer survivor � you can well, understand my deep seeded cause for concern. And how completely unnerved I was by the �you can learn to live with it� comment. How utterly absurd. Imagine, I paid a copay in cash for that ridiculous, irresponsible, callus examination and diagnosis. Highway robbery!

Dr. Mofid asked me who I saw for my 1st opinion, when I told her, she refrained from commenting. Her lack of comment, along with her expressive eyebrows more than conveyed what she thought of him.

Grannie was right, look at what people say, just as earnestly as you listen to what and how they say.

There was minor bleeding at the site where I took the injection. Four hours later, I was experiencing minor chest pain, on either side of the injection, it was a level of pain I could live with and I did manage to make it through the day successfully.

Dr. Mofid�s care, concern and professionalism reassured and comforted me. I made a point of letting her know, that my primary physician says she�s her Favorite Dermatologist. Dr. Mofid was grinning ear to ear.

I�m hard pressed to say which of us had the bigger smile.

There is so much I can say about competent, caring, professional physicians, who treat their patients like people. Further, how deeply I feel that the fine art and delicate skill that the practice of medicine is, moreover, far greater than just writing prescriptions and churning through a mile long patient roster day in and day out. For now I�ll hold that thought. Instead, I offered a prayer to God for Dr. Weinstein, Dr. Mofid and Dr. Epps (three of my favorite Doctors).

May God�s Grace Continue to Bless, Strengthen and Guide these Brilliant women.
Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -