6:00 p.m. - 2003-10-14
A Shared Small Victory

I had no idea that I'd make it over another personal hurdle. Since Hurricane Isabelle so much has changed for me. I can't say that all of the changes are tangible, but if you know me in real life you'd notice their manifestation.

I sincerely believe its all for my own greater good. And for the good of that special Man God decides to place into my life. *eh hem*

It began raining last night, just minutes before I was to leave my office. The sky was dark, almost purplish. Under ordinary circumstances I've got a couple people I can call to help settle my nerves, and reassure me.

This goes back to 1997, a car crash that could have taken my life.

except,

I was saved, spared, given another chance because of 2 inches, and because it wasn't my turn to "go".

My car, a Burgundy Nissan Altima GXE fully loaded, was split into two parts - 2 inches in FRONT of the gas tank; due to impact and collision damage involving a 1986 Jeep Wrangler.

If I concentrate hard, I can hear metal on metal...twisting, writhing, crushing, imploding, cranking, folding, heaving and being razed apart.

I try not to concentrate that hard, when it rains for obvious reasons.

I thought I'd be haunted by that event for the rest of my adult driving life.

Last night, I realized the precise moment I turned onto Hancock Drive (only moments away from "The Bat Cave"), that I'd driven in the rain, I did not call anyone, and that my nerves were intact.

As I parked in my spot just under the tree out front The Bat Cave, I smiled to myself and said a brief thanks to God.

I was happy, relieved and at peace.

I'd finally gotten rid of that haunting, foreboding, confidence stealing, nerve rattling fear of driving in the rain.

No longer would my loved ones have to "deal" with me as I made my way home.

I love and appreciate you all for the times you stopped your lives to comfort and reassure me.

In tribute to you and to me, WE DID IT!


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -