7:54 p.m. - 2004-06-11
06-11-04

What is going on? I find myself cultivating the spirit of procrastination.

I half-way wonder to myself if this is due in large part to me over-working myself for a period of nearly 2 decades, only to find that at the tender age of 34 I can barely muster the effort some days.

I know this can't possibly be healthy, and maybe perhaps its a passing phase. (I hope so).

At any rate the long and short of it, is that I turned in my Sociology for Developing Nations Final Exam abstracts.

I can be honest about the fact that the 4 abstract items were dull and boring. I didn't know anything about any single one of them. This may be a factor, which plays a huge part in my procrastination in this instance.

I was late arriving at school to turn in my exam.

A torrential down pour coupled with winds and dense slow moving traffic made matters worse.

I went to Room 313 the classroom was empty. Just as I'd suspected/feared.

I made my way back to the Mezzanine level, to find Prof. BiP.�s office. He approached me with a slight smirk upon his visage. I truly was not in the mood for any *ish*.

He surprised me by thanking me for being a part of his class. For my provocative commentary, and discussion assertions which added meaningful flavor and enriched his classes.

I was shocked and stunned. His class provoked me initially, once I got over the anger I got motivated then I began looking forward to seeing him on Friday nights. I was learning so much, I could almost feel my mind stretching. I felt as if I couldn�t get enough of this class.

He said that I�d made him interested once more in Sociology. Was I hearing him correctly? I re-energized HIM? He said that he�d love to have me in his upcoming Fall term POL courses. He rattled off the course numbers so deftly. I nodded and could feel a smile creeping across my visage. He returned the smile. Shaking my hand, nodding and � smirk/smiling he asked me to please consider being in his courses again, if my schedule and interests permitted.

I shook his hand firmly and looked him squarely in his eyes.

I told him I was uncertain as to the timing of the Fall term and the POL courses but that I�d check and be sure to sign up for his courses if everything fell into place just right.

He nodded and said �fair enough�.

As I turned to exit his office, he added �you know I had begun to worry about you, because YOU are NEVER late.� His words hung in the air.

I said �sorry�. I truly didn�t mean to make him worry.

As I walked back to my car, rain pelted the top of my baseball cap.

I couldn�t help but think how much my presence and my participation in this class meant to the Prof. He was moved. It was a show of emotion he didn�t afford us during the term. Clearly I�d made a meaningful connection with him.

In my heart, I know that he knows what an impression he and his class made upon me.

This is the part of the academic process I so passionately enjoy � the truest form of two minds meeting and making a connection.

In the morning I have an Econ exam. I have not cracked my text open as yet. I just purchased a Scientific Calculator from Target tonight, upon my return from dropping off my Sociology exam...see what I mean about the trend of procrastination?

Whatever the causation of this phenom is, I've got to put an end to it, and get back to the dedicated student I was before.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -