10:34 p.m. - 2004-03-13
Sentimental Old Fool

The �check engine� light illuminated last Saturday night. I was � way home driving from Columbia to Upper Marlboro. I glanced at the clock, inside the car, it was then that I realized how late I�d stayed up beyond my �bed time�; it was just after midnight. The illumination on the dashboard allowed my imagination to go wild. I sat thinking that the car has been good to me. I have been good to the car. I said aloud �Green Machine if this is to be the end, please get me home tonight, and we�ll see about getting you fixed up and taken care of.�

Thank God.

I got home safely.

I could not sleep though. My every thought kept going back to my car and how it had been dependable. �He�s� more dependable than any human being in my real life. It was of little to no comfort, that I�d taken care of the car, by taking it to the dealer for regular service.

I have an appointment at the dealership in Bowie, early Monday morning. My Department Chief is an understanding human being. He told me to take whatever time was needed to tend to the car. He has no idea, I could�ve hugged him � not to worry I didn�t. I only thought about it.

This brings me to a point and a realization of how dependent I am upon my car. How different my life would be without the convenience of a car.

I�d allowed myself the indulgence in the fanciful idea that The Green Machine would be with me through college at least, if not longer. I have taken extremely good care of him, after all, all things considering there is no real reason why the engine wouldn�t keep performing up to and perhaps beyond 300,000 miles.

My personal sentiments about The Green Machine aside, Monday I�ll know for certain, once the �experts� have had at him, what our fate is. I don�t know what I�ll do if I�m told I need a new car. I think I�d try to buy a new engine before I�d buy a new car.

I once heard someone call another �a sentimental old fool.� Seems I�ve grown into one myself.


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -