04:00 a.m. - 2003-05-14
Homesick

I am homesick.

There is not point in my hiding, or making feeble attempts to deny it.

I miss my family (my dad - *Amar*, my sister - *Janelle*, my brother - *Nirvana* and my niece � *Annissa#2*.

I miss the powerful island sun�s heat on my face. Man how I miss the sunsets.

I miss the beach, the tranquil, pristine, blue-green waters and clean almond colored sand.

I miss the sounds � the impromptu beach parties where every party crasher is welcomed. The faint din of familiar steel pan tunes.

I miss the smell of island food (ginger beer, lucozade, jerk chicken, beef patties, cook up rice, chow mein, dahl, roti and curry).

I miss that special feeling, I get inside, only when the plane lands, at Owen Roberts Int�l Airport.

The fact of the matter is, I will be going home, at the end of October, to visit. I know that, and I keep telling myself to think of that instead of sitting here being the Sad Sack poster child.

My heart continues to tug, my mind won�t cooperate. It seems as if, I can�t help myself. I miss them something fierce!

I want my dad to hug me, sit with me while we drink coffee, in the early morning hours, when it seems as if we are the only 2 people on Earth awake. I miss our talks. We talk about everything and nothing, all at the same time.

I want my sister and brother to laugh with me, as we share adventures and make memories.

I want my niece, to challenge and teach me, the way only a 4-year old can, to see the world differently, every single time she runs up to me and says (in her thick, but charming Caymanian* accent) �Ahuntee una know what?!�

Today I feel as if I need hugs. Comforting, welcoming hugs, filled with love and unspoken �I miss You(s)�, only they can give me.

*sigh*


Previous - Next

Notes - Current - Older - Profile - Email - Hosted By - Design

- Souljourn�s Training Diary -